top of page
  • Writer's pictureSylvain Lupari

NATTEFROST: Tracks from the Archives Vol. 3 (2018)

Updated: Sep 27, 2020

Due to its great diversity of genres, these tracks are aimed at a larger audience than fans of the Danish synthesist

1 Man of Science 3:10

2 Snestorm 3:01

3 Underneath another Nightsky (Radio edit) 4:50

4 Bootleg 6:49

5 The Firewall 4:25

6 Trancey Nights 4:42

7 The Nun of St. Claire Abbey 4:17

8 Underworld 5:20

9 I månens skær 3:17

10 Ruin of Hate (Intro) 1:11

11 Decadence 7:40

12 Don't let the Machines Take Over 4:54

13 The Longships (Live in Belgium 2017) 7:51

Nattefrost Music

(DDL 61:33) (V.F.)

(Cosmic Rock, Synth-Pop, Synth-Rock)

I'm not really a fan of remixes, compilations or even those leftovers that hang around and become archives. The only condition for me to put my ears to it, is that the artist's style lends itself to this kind of work. Like that of Bjorn Jeppesen who is literally the equivalent of Jean-Michel Jarre in his Denmark. TRACKS FROM THE ARCHIVES Vol. 3 is a great collection of titles that demonstrates the artistic impact of Nattefrost in its country. There are collaborations in this album that literally blew me away, in the years where Nattefrost spread its most productive. Either be the 2012-2013. Surprises? Yes! Including 2 superb titles co-written with Aghast Mano in this collection of old titles which gave me back this taste to reconnect with the tonal colors of the Nattefrost universe...

Man of Science immediately plunges us into this universe where techno, simply articulated on boom-boom-boom of low pulsations, plunges into the ample fluid and harmonic oscillations of a synth in Electronic Dance Music mode. This composition by English artist Jon Teknik comes from recording sessions in 2013 and emphasizes a panoply of percussive effects and Vocoder that stimulates a catchy fusion between Techno and Düsseldorf School style. A genre which is immensely popular in Denmark. We love? We will like The Firewall, a track composed by Sector One and Don't let the Machines Take Over, a track composed with Steen Chorchendorff Jørgensen (Remember Green) and which belongs to the album, produced by Nattefrost, After Shock. Snestorm presents the cosmic influences side of Jean-Michel Jarre to us on a very quiet track. Underneath another Nightsky (Radio edit) is Nattefrost's first contemporary classic. This version is slightly different from the original, which can be found on the album Underneath the Nightsky, with a more rock approach. While the reworked version here is from the album Tracks from the Archives. But no matter where it comes from, it's a damn good title! Bootleg is in the synth-pop genre with a guitar that catches our feet in a catchy rhythm, but still sober. It's a Robert Solheim composition who absolutely wanted a remixed version in 12 inch vinyl format by Bjorn Jeppesen. The guitar is particularly good there.