top of page
  • Writer's pictureSylvain Lupari

STOCKMAN: Future Science (2007)

Updated: May 22, 2020

Complex and rich, this Future Science is the equivalent of soaking your ears in a fountain of colors and metallic tones

1 Electricity (Part 1 & 2) 11:31

2 Experiment G438 8:12

3 No one at the Lab 6:35

4 Ambient Electrons 6:37

5 OK (Zero K Absolute Zero Point) 4:29

6 Careful with that 4:24

7 Liquid Fusion 8:27

8 Science of Music 6:03

9 Virtual Dreams 6:51

10 Outro 2:20

(CD-R 65:29) (V.F.)

(Industrial Dance Music)

Quite a surprise that the discovery of Stockman. At the very least for FUTURE SCIENCE, an album filled with musical diversity, both for genres and for sounds. From the bordering rhythm to a catchy sluggishness, frozen in a synthesized and gelatinous fusion!

Electricity (Part 1 & 2) opens this 4th opus from the Belgian musician on a technoïd note. After a romantic and vaporous intro, the first percussion strokes hammer a slow, heavy and incisive tempo. A dance of obese zombies on percussion strikes that carry the moods with intensity and a synth filled by robotic harmonies. The kind of opening that frowns in amazement and is listened to at high definition. Besides, this album deserves to be listened to at high volume and with a good headset in order to capture as much as possible all the unfolding of the tonal flora which is offered to our ears. Experiment G438 has no rhythm, but electronic pulses that stick to waves and reverberating curves. This dark ambient title is surrounded by heavy synth layers and lined with fascinating sound effects whose taste of industrial EM is felt by a phase of metal rubbed and struck on an anvil. No one at the Lab follows the same ambient path before exploring a more melodious alternative with a light jazz approach on heavy percussion and a dragging synth. Heavy percussions resonate in this universe in fusion where the tempo is minimalist and lascivious. It's like if the metal could have an industrial nostalgia side. A slightly syncopated tempo comes alive under the bells of rattlesnakes and throws a frail Ambient Electrons. Another title that wanders between rhythm and dullness while progressing with strength and heaviness. More vaporous and abstract, OK (Zero K Absolute Zero Point) floats in a universe in fusion on capricious and spectral sound waves where reigns a strong atmosphere of sound experimentation. Like we find on Science of Music, Virtual Dreams and Outro. Careful with that is offering a slow and evolving rhythm that takes on a techno tangent with more fluid percussions and just as effective as the opening title. Liquid Fusion reminds me of the neurotic approach of Juno Reactor. After an intro with twisted sounds the gyratory rhythm circulates nervously, like a lasso whipping time. Heavy and slow, it progresses with a really nice sampling of tribal percussions whose rhythm is covered by metallic streaks. An excellent title!

Complex and rich, both in terms of its sound flora, its evolving and abstract rhythms, FUTURE SCIENCE is the equivalent of soaking your ears in a fountain of colors and metallic tones. This Stockman album has little experimental pearls that should appeal to curious ears hovering between hypnotic rhythms and atmospheres against the backdrop of industrial music. I really liked this pleasant surprise that I tasted title by title ....

Sylvain Lupari (July 9th 2011) *****

Available at SynGate Bandcamp

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page