• Sylvain Lupari


At the end, this Oasis is much better than its shy reception from critics

1 Flashflood 7:00

2 Zion 5:43

3 Reflections 5:08

4 Cliff Dwellers 5:06

5 Waterborne 7:20

6 Cedar Breaks 5:08

7 Summer Storm 6:06

8 Hopi Mesa Heart 5:53

9 Chia Maroon 4:10

TDI Music TDI CD008

(CD 51:34) (V.F.) (Sequencer-based E-Rock)

The music, and especially the video, of Canyon Dreams was a commercial success for Miramar in 1986. The music was composed by Edgar Froese, Chris Franke and Paul Haslinger and was even nominated for a Grammy in the best new age album section. Ten years later, Edgar teamed up again with photographer Gary Warriner to compose, with his son Jerome, the music for what would become OASIS. This time, the commercial success never flirted with the first collaboration. This can be explained by the fact that the music is very far from the New Age paths, except for Cedar Breaks, to offer a solid electronic rock whose bases were heard on the fiery 220 Volt Live. First released on Miramar, OASIS was made available to the European market on the TDI label during the Dream's 1997 tour in Eastern Europe. The critical reception being very mixed, I first confronted OASIS with my ears filled with suspicion. Attitude as unfounded as the lukewarmness of the critics! With the exception of Cedar Breaks, my ears were confronted with solid electronic rock without artifices, nor those noisy irritants that end up making the listening unbearable. OK, the emotionless vocal layers are still present, but they are less insistent and are sometimes great like in Cliff Dwellers. Moreover, the music is entirely performed by synthesizers and sequencers. No drum machines, no saxophones. If the music is based on albums from Rockoon to Goblin's Club, we also find essences that remind us of the glorious 70's of Tangerine Dream.